By Atlanta DUI Lawyer William C. Head
The DUI limit in Georgia is 0.08 for drivers over 21, 0.04 for commercial drivers CDL, and 0.02 for drivers under 21. The DUI limit is another way of saying your “blood alcohol content limit”, or BAC. What a lot of people ask is, “How do I know what my BAC is before I decide to drive?”
Your current BAC depends on several variables, like how much you weigh, are you a male or female, how much alcohol is in each drink, how many drinks did you have, and how long ago did you drink them. What’s my BAC?
BAC stands for “blood alcohol content” and it is a number that shows how many grams of alcohol (ethanol) are in a dL of your blood. For example, a BAC of 0.10 (one tenth of one percent) means that there are 0.10 g of alcohol for every dL of your blood.
Your current BAC can be measured by a breathalyzer, which is a portable breath tester that the Atlanta Police and the Georgia State Patrol use to check a driver’s BAC as part of a roadside DUI investigation. If your BAC is 0.08 or higher, and you are over 21, you will most likely be arrested for driving under the influence and taken to the Atlanta jail.
Another name for BAC is your blood alcohol level, or BAL. You can use our BAC calculator to estimate your BAC or BAL before you drive. The legal alcohol level for DUI is the same in all 50 states, 0.08 for drivers over 21. If you are not a Georgia resident, but were in Atlanta on business or vacation, a DUI can be extra difficult because your right to drive in your home state can be affected by the DUI you got here.
Also, having to travel back to Atlanta for court can mostly be avoided if you call Atlanta DUI lawyer Bubba Head to be in court for you. Mr. Head has been practicing Atlanta DUI law for over 40 years. He will appear in Atlanta Court for you and enter a not guilty plea.
A Georgia DUI charge results from driving with a BAC over the legal limit. Actually, you don’t even have to be over the legal limit to get a DUI charge.
If a police officer determines that you are impaired enough to be driving less safely, even though your BAC may only be 0.03, you will be arrested, taken to the Atlanta City Detention Center on Peachtree Street downtown and charged with a “DUI less safe.” Also, if you refuse to take the breathalyzer test, an officer can arrest you for DUI less safe.
Since an Atlanta prosecutor cannot use your BAC results from a breath test or blood test as evidence in Atlanta Municipal Court, DeKalb County Municipal Court, or State Court of Fulton County, the State will try to prove you were guilty of DUI less safe by relying on the arresting officer’s sworn testimony.
The officer will tell the judge about your erratic driving, slurred speech, or smell of alcohol as proof of your intoxication.
Call 42-year veteran Atlanta DUI attorney Bubba Head today and get honest answers to all your questions. Tell us everything that happened and everything you remember about your DUI arrest. The sooner you call us, the better chance we have to win your DUI case and get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Remember, you only have 30 DAYS to file a license suspension appeal or apply for an ignition interlock device, or your driver’s license will be suspended for up to one year! Talk to Bubba Head, Larry Kohn, or Cory Yager now. We are available 24 hours a day, weekends, and all major holidays. (404) 567-5515