By: William C. Head, DUI lawyer Atlanta and veteran drunk driving lawyer for more than 47 years, based in Atlanta Georgia
The DUI laws in Georgia prohibit driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, toxic fumes, or any other substances that impair a person’s ability to drive. This includes being DUI marijuana and even being DUI from taking too many over-the-counter medications.
Yet, the State must prove that the person has consumed the impairing substance to the point of impairment. Many DUI vs DWI arrests are preceded by the officer talking the person into attempting to perform VOLUNTARY roadside testing, which should be DECLINED. The field sobriety tests used by police are not “scientific” tests and are 100% optional.
The various types of DUI are primarily located in the first six subsections of OCGA 40-6-391. These various provisions allow the prosecutor to use one, two, three or all different methods of DUI driving, which is unlike some other states (e.g., SC).
The harshest of all GA DUI penalties and consequences. Many people have questions about how long a DUI conviction will create negative consequences in their life, and that answer is forever. Much like a conviction for a sex crime, a DUI conviction follows you to the grave and impacts your life in subtle and not so subtle ways.
DUI penalties in Georgia are among the nation’s most punitive. A conviction on any DUI in GA brings:
(1) mandatory 1 year probation (minus any days in jail),
(2) fines and surcharges that can exceed $2000,
(3) a requirement to complete DUI school (to get driving privileges restored).
(4) that the person must undergo an alcohol and drug screening,
(5) being required to perform community service hours,
(6) report to probation as directed and make those monthly fees.
(7) some will have to install (and pay for) an ignition interlock device (IID).
(8) ALL who are convicted will have a permanent criminal record.
If you have bonded out and have a court date, call today for a FREE LAWYER CONSULTATION from an award-winning Atlanta DWI attorney on doing what is needed to keep you driving. This service is included in your legal fees for representation in your Georgia DUI case.
Speak with a DUI attorney nearby in an initial DUI case assessment call, AT NO COST, by dialing our lawyers for DUI defense at 404-567-5515. In choosing a DUI lawyer in Georgia, use the same caution that you would in selecting a surgeon to perform a procedure that will be critical to your future quality of life.
If you are charged with a DUI in Georgia, and seeking to hire a DUI lawyer near me, why not call the Atlanta DUI lawyers who have authored the top-selling legal book on GEORGIA DUI LAWS since 1995? Plus, drunk driving defense attorney Bubba Head, our senior partner, co-authored his first NATIONAL DUI book in 1991, and this is still the top-selling DUI book ever published.
WORRIED ABOUT COST? The initial consultation and preliminary review of your case facts by a driving while intoxicated lawyer from our DUI firm is FREE! Our three lawyers near me for DUI defense are ready to talk about your specific legal issues.
These related practice areas are handled statewide for those who need a best attorney near me in this specialized field of criminal law:
For a quick overview of the escalating penalties for repeat DUI offenders in Georgia SEE CHART BELOW:
With a free case assessment, what other barrier keeps you from calling a lawyer for DUI near me, for more information? Get that no-cost legal advice by dialing 404-567-5515, which is a 24-hour number.
Our Atlanta Criminal Lawyer Group has 3 best DUI attorneys with a COMBINED 87 YEARS OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE experience. One partner (Cory Yager) has almost a decade of prior law enforcement experience, before joining Mr. Head over 15 years ago.
Another partner (Larry Kohn) has over 540 5-star AVVO reviews and has been named several times to Best Lawyers in America. He started with Mr. Head while still at Georgia State College of Law, over 26 years ago.
One reason our law professionals provide this FREE initial consultation is to make sure you PROTECT your DRIVING PRIVILEGES! You MUST act within 30 days of being arrested for driving under the influence.
If you procrastinate and don’t handle this emergency situation, potential clients who then cannot drive for the next 12 months usually can afford to pay anyone’s legal fees! After obtaining our free information, if you need the help of a public defender, our attorneys near me will tell you how to handle that request for appointed legal counsel, while still protecting your ability to drive.
In defending those citizens charged with violating DUI law in Georgia and other crimes, our attorneys have helped over 10,000 clients. Not even 1% of all national DWI vs DUI law firms have drunk driving attorneys who have handled more cases than that, and very few have 3 or more lawyers specializing in DUI defense.
Assuming the pullover was legally made, any refusal of the post-arrest forensic test will trigger the officer claiming that you violated this law, which then results in her or him taking your plastic license and replacing it with a 30-day paper form called a DDS-1205. Within THIRTY DAYS, that arrested driver must appeal or (if eligible) install a DDS GA 12-month ignition interlock device or suffer a FULL 1-YEAR LOSS of DRIVING PRIVILEGES.
After returning home, a lot of people begin their quest for a top-notch attorney in Georgia who specializes in DUI cases, particularly in Atlanta (or the location where they were apprehended). Prominent directories that evaluate lawyers, such as Martindale-Hubbell (established in 1868), have consistently given him the highest rating for more than three decades. Additionally, highly regarded legal services like Best Law Firms in America, Best Lawyers in America, and Super Lawyers have all recognized him as a leading figure in their rankings of attorneys.
WHO IS BUBBA HEAD, ATTORNEY? Thousands of prior clients will vouch for Bubba Head, Atlanta DUI attorney in the State of Georgia and 1976 UGA Law School grad. The DUI lawyer GA is a native of Columbus, GA and has helped multiple thousands of citizens avoid placing a DUI on their criminal record, for almost a half-century.
The best lawyers for DUI nearby have one of their 4 law office locations in metro Atlanta on Peachtree Street, one in Sandy Springs at the Prado, one in downtown Alpharetta and one in Cobb County in downtown Marietta, GA, near all of the criminal law courthouses. Yet, our DUI lawyers will travel statewide to represent clients, for those who need our legal expertise.
If you need help with a DUI case, our 4 affordable lawyers can assist you. Our legal team offers payment plans for attorney fees. Getting arrested for DUI can have serious consequences, even for a first offense. It’s important to protect your future.
Driver’s license suspension or revocation issues are measured by the number of DUI offenses committed within five (5) years. CRIMINAL penalties “look back” for ten (10) years.
For repeat offenders licensed in Georgia, the use of an ignition interlock device (IID) can help restore driving privileges for a second DUI offender sooner. Those facing a 3rd DUI in GA (if convicted) will have a 5-year license revocation. Plus, any Georgia licensee who refused post-arrest testing may need to install an IID to be able to continue commuting to work with limited driving privileges.
Over 95% of all DUI arrests result in an administrative license suspension being started. YOU MUST ACT WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER ARREST!
If your plastic license is missing, this is your best clue that a suspension is underway. If suspended, you either would have been given a GA DDS 1205 form (8.5” by 11″) or a small, GA DDS 1127 sticker placed on your GA DUI citation.
Once accused of a DUI charge, do not miss your deadline for protecting your RIGHT TO DRIVE! YOU ONLY HAVE 30 DAYS AFTER THE ARREST DATE! In almost every single case, our lawyers for DUI will know the best path for you to follow to regain your full driving privileges.
Depending on whether you are facing your 1st DUI, 2nd DUI, or 3rd DUI offense (within 10 years) you could have from 5 to 60 days of community service to perform, spend a minimum of 24 hours (first DUI), 72 hours (2nd DUI in GA) or 15 days to 90 days in jail (on a 3rd DUI). Plus, the judge decides if the convicted person will spend even more jail time.
Our legal team can meet virtually or in person using social distancing and masks. We have 4 law offices in Fulton County and Cobb County, which are conveniently located near your home or workplace. If you were arrested and need a DUI lawyer in either county, our team can assist you.
OTHER GA DUI LINKS THAT MAY BE OF INTEREST:
Visit this national DUI-DWI attorney directory for connections to many hundreds of other DUI vs DWI attorneys near me.
Copyright 2022-2023, William C. Head, DUI attorney Atlanta, GA. All rights reserved.