Was your driver’s license taken by the arresting officer after a DUI arrest? Did you request an administrative hearing through a Georgia DDS appeal hearing, by paying $150 and filing with DDS Georgia in Conyers, GA by TIMELY filing a DDS 1205 appeal? This is one of two methods for getting a limited driving permit.
For those accused citizens facing a DUI arrest, new Georgia DUI laws permit continuation of driving privileges for most Georgia licensees since July 1, 2017. If your law enforcement officer took your plastic license and issued a DDS 1205 form as a temporary license, failure of you (or your lawyer) to request a hearing or apply for and receive permission to install a 12-month interlock device within thirty days of arrest in Georgia leads to an administrative driver’s license suspension. This creates what DDS in GA calls a “hard” implied consent suspension period of 12 months in which you cannot drive.
Taking the GA DDS appeal or opting for an ignition interlock device is possible for over 85% of all Georgia-licensed drivers. With the right legal representation from top law firms near me and processing all documentation correctly, you can obtain another valid driver’s license or restricted driving permit, either as part of winning the criminal case, avoiding an administrative license suspension, or through the plea-bargaining process where your DUI lawyer negotiates to have the DUI reduced to reckless driving or other traffic ticket.
In Georgia, a DUI conviction automatically suspends your GA driver’s license. Whether you can get a “work permit” depends on many factors, such as age of the driver at the time of the criminal court disposition, your prior driving record (within the past 5 years), and your refusal of the DUI breath or blood test (under Georgia implied consent law) if lawfully requested by police AFTER you were arrested.
While waiting for your permanent license to arrive, you can still drive. The DDS in Georgia issues interim licenses and IDs for first-time applicants and renewals at a DDS center taken as an extra security measure.
Recent upgrades to licenses deter counterfeit driver licenses, with a gold star on the upper right corner. This helps DDS in Georgia prevent identity theft by allowing them to verify photos of repeat customers. The Georgia Department of Driver Services is the Georgia DMV, but by a different name.
If suspended, you can reinstate your license in person, by mail, or phone, so long as you did not lose the administrative driver’s license suspension hearing for “DUI refusal.” Many people who delay hiring legal counsel, try to self-represent, or miss the 30-day deadline of filing for their DDS GA appeal suffer this devastating suspension.
If this is not a repeat DUI in 5 years, or a refusal to submit to testing under the implied consent law but were suspended for conviction of a first offense DUI, drivers age 21 and over can reinstate their license after 120 days if you meet certain requirements outlined by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. The cost depends on several things including the type of suspension and the number of suspensions/ convictions on your driving record. For a first-time DUI offender, you must:
1. Complete a DDS-approved DUI or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program;
2. Pay a $200 reinstatement fee. (You will pay $210 if you go to a DDS service center location.)
Then, you may renew your license by visiting a DDS customer service center. You can also renew online or complete the renewal by mail. When renewing your Georgia license by mail, include your “Official Notice of Suspension” given to you by DDS. This document has your court name, violation date and other tracking information.
Remember, you only have 30 DAYS to file a license suspension appeal or apply for an ignition interlock device, or your driver’s license will be suspended for up to one year! Since the FREE lawyer consultation cost you nothing, why not talk to Bubba Head, Larry Kohn, or Cory Yager now? With 4 metro Atlanta locations, our experienced Atlanta DUI attorneys near me are available 24 hours a day, weekends, and all major holidays. Call us at (404) 567-5515.
To understand the consequences of both the criminal case and the DDS appeal of an administrative license suspension of your Georgia driver’s license and your driving history, you must seek the most knowledgeable DUI attorneys in the State. Dial our 24-hour DUI lawyer number for Georgia DUI arrests: (404) 567-5515 Call 42-year veteran Atlanta DUI attorney Bubba Head today and get honest answers to all your questions.
MAIN LAW OFFICE IN SANDY SPRINGS, GEORGIA:
5600 Roswell Road
Building H, #210
Sandy Springs, GA 30342
DOWNTOWN ATLANTA GA LOCATION:
235 Peachtree Street NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
MARIETTA, COBB COUNTY LOCATION:
109 Anderson Street
Marietta, GA 30060
ALPHARETTA-ROSWELL-MILTON LOCATION in North Fulton County, GA:
33 S Main St
Alpharetta, GA 30009
Liberty Hall Building