By: Cory Yager, Ex-Police Officer and Award-Winning Atlanta DUI Lawyer Near Me for a DUI Atlanta GA
First DUI in Georgia. Many potential clients facing a DUI in the state of Georgia who are a first- time offender DUI, Georgia call our law firm voicing concern about Georgia DUI penalties and (if convicted) the DUI consequences. Their apprehension is well-founded, starting with the potential DUI license suspension GA.
WARNING: Before we go further, to PROTECT your DRIVER’S LICENSE, let’s talk about requesting a hearing with the Georgia DDS, or opting to install (and exclusively drive) only one (1) vehicle with a 12-month ignition interlock device (IID) attached. You only HAVE 30 DAYS after arrest to do one or the other, to SAVE your driving privileges. So, call today for our FREE legal advice about what is BEST for your case. 404-567-5515.
What are the penalties for DUI in Georgia? Some cheap DUI lawyers in GA only talk about the low fine and the criminal defense attorney possibly being able to get the prosecutor to agree to no additional jail time for the clients that they intend to plead guilty. They explain taking the 20-hour risk reduction program.
The low-cost lawyers answer questions that their clients ask, like, “What is the fine for a DUI in Georgia?” or “How long is the DUI license suspension Georgia?” Plus, the cheap DUI attorneys will focus on the fact that a limited driving permit will allow the person to drive to work and transport their children.
The DUI sentence in GA, at least for those facing a true first offender DUI Georgia, are just a small “blip” on the radar. The TRUE cost of DUI in Georgia only becomes apparent later and can cost a person hundreds of thousands of dollars (if not millions) if future potential income.
Some will naively ask, “What is the penalty for first offense DUI in Georgia?” or “How much is a DUI ticket in Georgia?” Little do they know that even a 1st offense DUI in GA never comes off your criminal history.
How bad can a 1st DUI in Georgia be? Don’t underestimate the potential future damage of DUI convictions in Georgia. A first time DUI offense in Georgia can create employment, travel and opportunity barriers for your future.
A conviction of a DUI in Georgia 1st offense carries a moderate criminal law punishment and little (if any additional DUI jail time. For driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs conviction, the DUI fine in GA is very moderate. However, the lifetime criminal record and resulting license suspension after a conviction on DUI charges can wreak havoc in your life.
What is considered a DUI in Georgia? Initially, when DUI laws were enacted nearly a century ago, the State had to prove that the driver was rendered “less safe” to drive, due to the alcohol consumed. In the last 60 years, a second type of DUI called “DUI per se,” allows for a conviction when the driver is “over the legal limit,” as revealed in a post-arrest forensic breath or blood test.
A DUI first offense GA criminal violation will remain on your criminal record FOR LIFE. This is one of the only crimes for which the first offender act is specifically embargoed from being used. Because convictions under GA DUI laws cannot be expunged, including a first offense DUI, our DUI Atlanta law firm stays busy fighting all our clients’ driving under the influence offenses.
The Georgia DUI law is found in O.C.G.A. 40-6-391. Below is a DUI chart Georgia infographic that covers not just a first offense DUI, but all levels of DUI punishment for felony or misdemeanor DUI in Georgia.
This only covers Georgia DUI sentencing guidelines. Yet, this graphic is merely an overview of court-related DUI punishments, not the “impact to life” costs.
Not only can violating DUI laws Georgia affect your car insurance premiums, but your entire insurance rating (e.g., for life insurance) can be affected. So, the list of DUI penalties Georgia creeps into your pocketbook in many ways, and for many years.
By contrast, a boating under the influence (BUI) Georgia has no impact on your GA DDS driving privileges. However, a conviction for a Georgia BUI charge can cost you the ability to operate a vessel of any type, for a full year.
Until convicted, no permanent criminal record for conviction of a drunk driving offense exists. This pertains to driving under the influence charges by means of being impaired by alcohol or drugs. A DUI attorney knows that raising legal challenges to the evidence and having court rulings on the record are crucial to fighting a DUI successfully.
Avoiding conviction for a DUI in Georgia is the objective, so do not trust that difficult task to just any DUI lawyers near me. Even if you were unaware that all roadside sobriety tests are NOT scientific and are voluntary, you know it now. Even if you attempted the bogus tests, our criminal lawyers near me can usually assist accused citizens.
Being charged with DUI is NOT a conviction! While our Atlanta DUI attorneys focus on NOT allowing you to get convicted of DUI, people always ask us about the penalties if convicted. Adult drivers on a DUI first offense in 5 years can get a certificate of first conviction.
Being charged with DUI is NOT a conviction! While our Atlanta DUI attorneys focus on NOT allowing you to get convicted of DUI, people always ask us about the penalties if convicted. The DUI statute (O.C.G.A. 40-6-391) mandates these categories of 1st DUI punishment and mandatory minimum DUI penalties (for each category) that cannot be waived.
Until and unless convicted, no permanent criminal record for conviction of a drunk driving offense exists. A DUI attorney knows that raising legal challenges to the evidence and having court rulings on the record are crucial to fighting a DUI successfully. Avoiding conviction for a DUI in Georgia is the objective, so do not trust that difficult task to just any DUI lawyers near me.
Accused citizens need to perform other routine duties like buying groceries or going to the doctor. Georgia law is very restrictive on which driving privileges are granted for a driver convicted of a first DUI offense.
The law is even more restrictive for a second offense DUI within five years. This constraint is true for 1st DUI charges for a first offense. Additionally, our state laws are even more restrictive for a 2nd DUI in GA. If arrested within five years of the date of the first offense DUI arrest, the driver is highly restricted.
With a 2nd DUI in GA within five years, license suspension is severe. Plus, your mugshot and summary of your DUI penalties will be published in the local newspaper. The mandatory clinical evaluation will include at least 17 weeks of sessions with a license Georgia therapist. Thus, a DUI second offense must be fought by a highly trained Georgia DUI lawyer with top attorney ratings.
If you face an administrative license suspension for DUI refusal (not agreeing to take the requested breath alcohol test under implied consent law), Georgia offers NO hardship license at all. Some Georgia drivers may opt to install a 12-month ignition interlock device, but this option is highly risky and cumbersome. win the administrative hearing.
If you opt to fight the pending suspension and lose the appeal, you face a year of not driving. A GA DDS appeal to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (Georgia DDS) could go against you. This creates a one-year suspension.
To read about the changes in Georgia DUI laws and implied consent, review Bubba Head’s 7 Steps to Saving Your Right to Drive.
Our legal book authors are Georgia Super Lawyers and are well-versed on drunk driving as any Georgia attorneys. For a FREE lawyer consultation, call 404-567-5515 today.
Let us help you make the RIGHT decision about fighting your case. If you are interested in aggressively FIGHTING to keep a DUI off your permanent record, call today for your FREE consultation.
Our new main office location is in north Fulton County, at 5590 Roswell Road, Suite 210, Sandy Springs, GA 30342, about a quarter mile from where Georgia 400 and I-285 intersect. Located just south of I-285 and accessed from Roswell Road, our law office is accessed through the parking deck, within the third level (P3) level.
Our front entrance is sheltered from weather conditions by the Prado P4 parking deck that is directly in front of the Target store. From our office windows, we can see the Lifetime Fitness Center pool. Our entrance is one level down, at P3.
Easy access to Interstate 285 and Georgia 400 makes our office an ideal central location for getting to all Metro Atlanta criminal courts. In less than ten minutes, our lawyers can reach the DeKalb County line, the Cobb County line, and the Gwinnett County line from our law office.
OTHER HELPFUL LINKS:
Some of Our Busiest Municipal Courts:
Athens Municipal Court (Athens-Clarke County Municipal Court)