Text Us! (404) 995-6297
 

(404) 567-5515

24 Hours a day!

Request Your FREE Case Review

Get Bubba’s FREE Book and Streaming Video.

 

Georgia Driver’s License Information

Was your license taken after a DUI arrest? With the right representation and documentation you can get another valid driver’s license. You only have 30 days after the arrest to initiate this process- Act fast!

A GA DUI Conviction Leads to an Automatic Driver’s License Suspension

In Georgia, a DUI conviction automatically suspends your GA driver’s license. Whether you can get a “work permit” depends on many factors, such as age of the driver, driving record, and your refusal of the DUI breath or blood test requested by police AFTER you were arrested.

To understand the consequences to your Georgia driver’s license and driving record, you must seek the most knowledgeable DUI attorneys in the State. Those lawyers are Bubba Head, Larry Kohn, and Cory Yager. Combined they have successfully represented thousands of relieved clients.

In 2010, the Georgia driver’s license received a makeover courtesy of the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). Changes to the Georgia driver’s license include enhanced fraud and identity theft protection, and faster customer service.

Increased Fraud Protection and Customer Service Speeds

New GA licenses and identification cards have various layers of protection against unlawful counterfeiting and fraud. Now, machine-readable holograms and computer-generated graphics make it difficult for someone to create or use a counterfeit GA driver’s license.

Additionally new Georgia licenses for drivers under the age of 21 are printed horizontally. This makes it easier for retailers and law enforcement agents to ID minors. The current Georgia licenses and identification cards speed up customer service at Georgia DDS centers. Improved insurance processing and a new data management interface allow the DDS to scan the electronic imaging for faster retrieval.

Issuing A Temporary or Renewing your Georgia Driver’s License

While waiting for your permanent license to arrive, you can still drive. The DDS issues interim licenses and IDs for first-time applicants and renewals at a DDS center taken as an extra security measure. This helps DDS prevent identity theft by allowing them to verify photos of repeat customers.

The interim license is valid for up to 45 days. This temporary license is printed on security paper and is validated by reading an encrypted barcode.

A permanent license will be mailed to your address on file with DDS within one week. If you need your ID mailed to a different address, there will be a 1-2 week delay.

It is important to note that your current Georgia driver’s license or ID card remains valid until the expiration date.

My Georgia License Was Suspended! How Can I Reinstate It?

If suspended, you can reinstate your license in person, by mail, or phoneIf suspended for a first offense DUI, you can reinstate your license after 120 days if you meet certain requirements outlined by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. The cost depends on several things including the type of suspension and the number of suspensions/ convictions on your driving record. For a first-time DUI offender, you must:

  1. Complete a DDS-approved DUI or Drug Use Reduction Program
  2. Pay $200 reinstatement fee. ($210 in person.)

 

You may renew your license by visiting a DDS customer service center. You can also renew online or complete the renewal by mail. When renewing your Georgia license by mail, include your “Official Notice of Suspension” given to you by DDS. This document has your court name and violation date. If you don’t have the Official Notice of Suspension, don’t worry.

Enclose your full name, DOB, driver’s license number, address and social security number along with your certificate of completion and full payment. Send it to the DDS validation unit in Conyers.   First-time renewal applicants must go to DDS and present documents proving/confirming your full social security number, identity, residential address, and proof of citizenship.

To renew online, you need a Secure ID (gold star) and a current Georgia license. Third, you may extend your license by mail if you’re a Georgia resident stationed out of state or similar circumstances.

For any changes you need to make on your license (such as an address change), these can be done in person and online. Please keep in mind not all changes can be made online unless certain requirements are met.

Call 41-year veteran Atlanta DUI attorney Bubba Head today and get honest answers to your questions. Tell us everything that happened and everything you remember about your DUI arrest. The sooner you call us, the better chance we have to win your DUI case and get your charges reduced or dismissed.

Remember, you only have 30 DAYS to file a license suspension appeal or apply for an ignition interlock device, or your driver’s license will be suspended for up to one year! Talk to Bubba Head, Larry Kohn, or Cory Yager now. We are available 24 hours a day, weekends, and all major holidays. (404) 567-5515

 

Call 41-year veteran Atlanta DUI attorney Bubba Head today and get honest answers to all your questions. Tell us everything that happened and everything you remember about your DUI arrest. The sooner you call us, the better chance we have to win your DUI case and get your charges reduced or dismissed.

Remember, you only have 30 DAYS to file a license suspension appeal or apply for an ignition interlock device, or your driver’s license will be suspended for up to one year! Talk to Bubba Head, Larry Kohn, or Cory Yager now. We are available 24 hours a day, weekends, and all major holidays. (404) 567-5515

image

Free Appeal Letter and DUI Book

Receive Your Free Copy of The DUI Book

Get Started
image

Ask Bubba a Question

Send Us Your Questions. It's Free!

Send Your Question