By: William C. “Bubba” Head, Atlanta DUI Attorney
Driving under the influence (DUI) is more than a criminal manner—if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take it, your license may be suspended by the Department of Driver Services (DDS). This license suspension occurs even before you are found guilty in criminal court.
There are several DDS law enforcement forms that you should become familiar with if you have recently been arrested and charged with DUI in Georgia. These forms list the results of any chemical tests you may have taken, as well as information regarding your administrative license suspension (ALS).
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI, it is in your best interest to hire a qualified DUI defense lawyer. William C. (Bubba) Head is one of the most highly-regarded lawyers in the field of DUI defense. He works tirelessly to ensure that his clients receive a fair trial and, as a result, has a 93% success rate of winning cases and having his client’s charges minimized to a non-DUI charge.
The DS-1205 form is filled out by law enforcement and is used to inform you of an impending administrative license suspension. You will receive the DS-1205 form if you failed the breath test or refused to take it. In Georgia, your license may be suspended for up to one year for a breath test refusal. You have ten business days to request a hearing regarding your license suspension; however, if you do not request a hearing within this timeframe, your license will be automatically suspended.
The DS-1030 is served by law enforcement to a person who has been declared a habitual violator. This form serves to inform the offender that his or her license has been suspended for a minimum of five years. If the offender if caught driving during this time, he or she may be sent to a penitentiary for a period of one to five years.
If you have recently received a DDS form from a law enforcement agent, it may be a sign that you need to obtain legal representation.
Call 42-year veteran Atlanta DUI attorney Bubba Head today and get honest answers to all your questions. Tell us everything that happened and everything you remember about your DUI arrest. The sooner you call us, the better chance we have to win your DUI case and get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Remember, you only have 30 DAYS to file a license suspension appeal or apply for an ignition interlock device, or your driver’s license will be suspended for up to one year! Talk to Bubba Head, Larry Kohn, or Cory Yager now. We are available 24 hours a day, weekends, and all major holidays. (404) 567-5515